3
\$\begingroup\$

5 days ago, as an experiment, I clicked on the link that appeared on a comment thread (the one that says "let us continue this discussion in chat").

The system created a chat room for the thread, and copied comments there. Wonderful.

But now the room is useless (I said it was an experiment), so: how can I close/delete/remove/whatever that room? It "disappears" by itself when not used for enough days, or a manual action is required?

| |
\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

This will happen automatically in one of two ways, depending on the previous activity in the room.

  • If the room seems to have some interesting content (see the above link for a precise definition), it will be frozen after 14 days of silence. This means it's hidden from the regular room list (you have to explicitly "show frozen rooms" to see it), and new messages can't be added.
  • If the room does not really seem to have interesting content, it will be deleted after seven days of silence. Deleting is similar to deletion of questions and answers on the Q&A sites: Only users with more than 10,000 reputation can see it; new messages can't be added.

Manual freezing and deletion is limited to moderators. If you feel strongly that a room should disappear immediately, just find a moderator to do it, but usually you can just wait and the inactive room will disappear eventually.

| |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ DOH! And I've browsed thru the FAQ! Two times! Thanks... \$\endgroup\$ – Axeman Aug 29 '12 at 12:22

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .