2
\$\begingroup\$

The description for this says it is: "First rollback"; however I have no idea what this means. Could someone explain?

| |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ From time to time, certain users become really addicted to the editing feature, and start making truly silly edits just to highlight words - that only produces pointless churn. But sooner or later they carelessly break things in an edit, leaving dangling words, removing key qualifiers, etc - then someone has to go and cleanup by rolling back to the last version of the question which fully captured the original author's message. \$\endgroup\$ – Chris Stratton Jun 26 '13 at 17:33
3
\$\begingroup\$

This is a bit less prevalent now that edits are peer reviewed. However, if someone edited a post in such a way that was not productive, you could "rollback" the revision to the last good version.

Click on the "edited on ****" link on an edited post, and all previous revisions will show a set of links: source edit rollback link. The rollback simply discards all revisions after the version that you are rolling back to.

The last time I remember using it was for undoing some excessive retagging of a question.

| |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for clearing that up for me. \$\endgroup\$ – Nick Williams Jun 24 '13 at 21:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .