I was in the middle of writing a answer to the question https://electronics.stackexchange.com/q/117324/4512, which is about a resistor in series with a relay coil, and how come the voltage on the relay was so low.
I had written a couple of paragraphs, created a schematic, and uploaded that into the answer. Then a bar pops up at the top of the browser saying that the question has been deleted and no more answers will be accepted.
I would like the system to not allow the OP to delete a question if a answer is in the process of being written. I believe the OP can't delete a question with existing answers, so that is already covered (if not it should be).
We are all volunteers here. Spending time writing a detailed answer then having the question get deleted out from under you is seriously demotivating. People new to this site sometimes delete questions, but I think they shouldn't be allowed to except in very limited circumstances, and it should require some minimum rep.
We have seen people sometimes not like the response they got to a question, so they deleted it and asked it again. This is usually from newcomers to the site that don't understand how things work, so some minimum rep would get around this problem too. In the very rare case where a question really should be deleted, it can be flagged for mod attention.
Argh! It just happened again
I spent some time to write a detailed answer to Eddy current in transformer and its minimization, which did get posted. Then the OP apparently deleted the question. It's not right to have people put effort into writing a good answer, only to have the question deleted.
Apparently, the OP can delete a question if it has no more than one answer and that answer hasn't gotten any upvotes. That's wrong. The OP should not be allowed to delete the question if any answer is present or being written, unless perhaps there has been only a single answer with no upvotes after some time, like a few hours to a day or something.
This is no way to treat volunteers who spend their free time providing good content for this site!
Since I spent the time explaining transformer cores, I was going to ask such a question and then use what I wrote previously as a answer. However, when I went to the deleted question, it seems it is no longer deleted. I didn't know that was possible. Now I'm really confused. What happened? What are the rules about when OPs can delete and undelete their questions?