Sometimes when browsing questions I see one with an edit request. It looks a bit like this:
share edit(1) close flag
Clicking on that
edit(1) takes me to a preview where I can see the edit, and possibly approve it. If I approve it, I'm greeted by a window saying:
This suggestion still needs 1 approve vote from other reviewers.
Why? With a rep of 2000+ I can edit the question myself without having anyones approval, if I want. I don't see the point of having to wait for a second review here. Any approved edits will still show up at the top of the queue, for community review, so I don't see what type of abuse it can prevent.
I assume this is a site-wide feature, but just in case it is not, I'm posting it here in EE.SE, because I'm not sure how much every sub-site can be customized.
I captured a screenshot of the window, but it looks a little bit confusing here since it has the same style as the actual text, so I've tried to move it away from the question.